#2 Caravan of the Wilds

We spent two weeks crossing the burning yellow desert, perspiration by day and frost by night. What began as myself and my uncle had turned into a retinue of the oddest collection of characters this side of the Sea. The gypsies’ wooden wagon complained with every bump. The twin brothers and their captive djinn scared off even the most persistent of nocturnal bandits. And no one was allowed to touch the Roamer’s flying carpet.

We eventually reached the City of Flames and went our separate ways. The journey that was torment at the time is now a fond memory that I often relive in my thoughts. I recall that each night the smell of desert jasmine and sagebrush encouraged the pleasant dreams to find me. And I miss the cheetah handler.

Click here to listen to “Caravan of the Wilds”

Leave a comment